$ website.include(?login?)

Slugs Win Women's Soccer Championship

Slugs Win Women's Soccer Championship

UC Santa Cruz won the ACAA Women's Soccer Championship with a 7-0 win over Finlandia in Santa Cruz, CA.

The Slugs controlled the game from the start, scoring goals in the 2nd and 4th minutes to take a quick 2-0 lead that would ballon to 4-0 by halftime. The scoring slowed down until late in the game when UCSC was able to tack on three more goals. By the time the final horn sounded, UC Santa Cruz had a 28-1 shot advantage in the contest and did not allow a Finlandia shot on goal.

Five players scored for UCSC led by two goals and an assist from Nicole Aceves and Peyton Bell with a goal and an assist. Also scoring for the Slugs were Julia Hernandez, Katie Herm, Maya Gonzales and Karina Bulli. Caitlin Pieper had the only other assist in the game. UCSC posted two shutouts in the tournament as they defeated Pratt in the semifinals by a 12-0 count in the semifinals on Saturday.

Mylea Harangozo had the shot for Finlandia and Samantha Linteo made 12 saves for the Lions.

All Tournament Team
GK- Anais Uriarte (Mills)
D-  Zoe McKenzie (Mills)
M- Alondra Rios (Mills)
M- Daniela de Pontes (Pratt)
D- Daisia Knowles (Finlandia)
M- Kirsten L'Esperance (Finlandia)
F- Erika Lambert (Finlandia)
D- Peyton Bell (UC Santa Cruz)
M- Julia Hernandez (UC Santa Cruz)
F-Ame Streiffer (UC Santa Cruz)
M- Tomiko Hoshijima (UC Santa Cruz) MVP